get in touch

A day in the life of Jessica Thigpen

Pronouns:

she/her/hers

Position:

Principal Consultant

Time at the clearing:

2 years

My name is really Jessica Omeili. I'm recently married (during a pandemic) but haven't changed my name professionally. I have an amazing, intelligent, and kind 12-year-old daughter and a 7-year-old four-legged son (he's a Schnorkie – mini schnauzer and yorkie mix). Family and friends are very important to me. I talk to my siblings, my parents, and my closest girlfriends every day! I spent the greatest years of my life in Blacksburg, VA, (GO HOKIES!). In my free time, I enjoy traveling to new places, working out at OrangeTheory, and reading or listening to suspense/thriller novels.

My Typical Day:

Overview
  • I'm consulting on two projects and managing the financials for a third. Between the two, I'm able to work in the areas of human capital planning, strategy development, product development, training development and delivery, culture strategy, and more!

Morning
  • As a morning person, I’m typically doing some independent work and/or checking emails before team and client meetings begin around 9:00 a.m. Fortunately, one of my clients prefers early meetings and the other prefers afternoon meetings. My morning client meetings are focused on the human capital management study we are developing, which is great to work on.

Afternoon
  • Lunch! I value this midday time to spend with my family so I do not schedule anything during this one-hour block. It allows me to recharge a little before I head into my afternoon, which I use for some heads-down work: designing sessions, strategic planning, responding to emails, and last-minute prep calls with teammates for the next morning's meetings.

Evening
  • It's time to unplug. I wind down by listening to a podcast while I cook dinner. It's the perfect way to transition from work to evening home life.